Deadlines

Even though I love having a time in which I need to finish something, actually finishing within the time limit set out is something I’ve never managed to master. I’ve got two deadlines in the near future, one in Feb and another in March. Both are completely doable, but does that make it any easier for me to do it? Nope. One is a short story where the other is a novella, only slightly longer then the short story. I can’t even blame the holidays as this year I haven’t had to do anything. No gifts to buy, no food to make, no decorations to hang. All I have to do is show up and be merry. So why am I finding it so hard to finish these WIPs?

Because I’m the Queen of procrastination! The head honcho of “I’ll Do It Later”. My mother can attest that I’ve spent the last twenty-five years honing this to an art form. I prefer getting things done so I don’t have to worry about them, it’s just getting from point (A) acknowledging I have a deadline, to point (B) meeting said deadline is a maze of self-imposed distractions. Even now while I type this blog I know I should be lost in my Word doc writing furiously and meeting my word quota for the day. I’m a terrible, terrible writer who needs to be whipped into shape. If B were online I’m sure he’d be happy to wield the whip. If only!

Leave a Reply

