Boondocks

I’ve been slowly expanding my collection of country music over the last few months. Having a fiance who lives in the mid-south and accumulating friends who live in country area’s of Australia have pretty much swayed me to the dark side and now I love country music. The one band I’ve found that I really enjoy listening to over and over is Little Big Town.

I feel no shame
I’m proud of where I came from
I was born and raised in the boondocks

One thing I know
No matter where I go
I keep my heart and soul in the boondocks

And I can feel
That muddy water running through my veins
And I can hear that lullaby of a midnight train
And it sings to me and it sounds familiar

I first saw their song “Pontoon” on The Range, an Australian country music channel that airs on Saturday mornings. I couldn’t get the song out of my head so I bought the album it was released on (Tornado) and I’ve been replaying it over and over. B mentioned a while later that his sister loved their song “Boondocks” and that I’d probably like it as well. The first time I heard it I wasn’t all that excited about it, but now after hearing it about three times I’m head over heels in love with it.

I feel no shame
I’m proud of where I came from
I was born and raised in the boondocks

One thing I know
No matter where I go
I keep my heart and soul in the boondocks

It’s where I learned about living
It’s where I learned about love
It’s where I learned about working hard
And having a little was just enough

Like always my Muse has been firing off story idea’s left right and center because of this song and it has got by blood pumping to get back into my contemporary western writing. If I didn’t already have a million projects to finish I’d kiss my Muse, as it is I want to throttle him and the leather chaps he’s wearing atm. Or maybe brand his bare naked buttocks since he doesn’t seem to be wearing pants with said chaps.

Leave a Reply

