The Blood Compendium

I’ve been writing Vampire stories for quite a few years (I’ve never finished one before) and I’ve always come up with my own Vampires and Myths to go along with them. Eventually after I stop writing one Vampire series for a while I forget about all the stuff I’ve developed for them.

A couple of days ago I was surfing the Martha Stewart website (she is kind of awesome!) and I found a video for binding books. I’d alreday seen this on an episode about a month ago and decided to watch it again. I’m officially addicted to the idea of trying my hand at binding a book. Unfortunately I don’t have anything that I can print and bind. And that’s when it hit me! I could write a Vampire Handbook and print that, giving me the material I need to practice my binding.

Thus I’ve been working on The Blood Compendium: A Guide to Vampirism. I’ll be using the book in the Vampire series I’m currently developing as well, a Handbook that is given to newly turned or coming of age Vampires to learn what they are and where they came from. So far I’ve roughed out 11 chapters, including an introduction and final word for the book. Tomorrow I’ll be fleshing out the chapters.

I can’t believe I never thought of this before!

Bookbinding @ Martha Stewart

Leave a Reply

